Comments No Comments »

A total of 869 toys for local children were collected, and 334 pounds of food for Hawaii Food Bank.  Special thank you to Moanalua Lions & Leo Club, Moanalua High School, Battery Bill Ogawa, Benny & the Cruisers, FM 105.9, Highway Response Towing and Legal Shield.  Top 5 Car Clubs in donations are as follows:

  1.  Bleizn FX – 130 toys
  2. Mobile Gamer Guys – 120 toys
  3. Porsche Club of Hawaii – 93 toys
  4. Pure VIP Club of Hawaii – 87 toys
  5. Aloha Mustang & Shelby Club of Hawaii – 72 toys

VW Clubs of Hawaii donation as follows:

VW Club of Hawaii-33 toys; Westside Ka’ahui Braddahood-25 toys; Hawaiian VW Outlaws-4 toys —————————————————————————————————————————————————

Toys for Tots began in 1947 when Major Bill Hendricks, USMCR and a group of Marine Reservists in Los Angeles, California collected and distributed 5,000 toys to needy children.  The idea came from Bill’s wife, Diane, who had hand crafted a Raggedy Ann doll and asked her husband to deliver the doll to an organization in Los Angeles which would give it to a needy child.  When Bill determined that no agency existed, Diane told Bill that he should start one – he did.  The 1947 campaign was so successful that the Marine corps adopted Toys for Tots in 1948 and expanded it into a nationwide campaign.  That year, Marine Corps Reserve units across the nation conducted Toys for Tots campaigns in each community in which a Reserve unit was located.  Marine have conducted successful nationwide campaigns at Christmas each year since 1948.

The iconic “train logo” was designed in 1948 by none other that Walt Disney; that logo is still in use today.  Disney also designed the first Toys for Tots posted used to promote the nationwide program.

Numerous recording artists and stars of stage and screen have lent their talents to the Toys for Tots campaigns over the years.  Nat “King” Cole, Peggy Lee, and Vic Damone recorded the Toys for Tots song written by Sammy Fain and Paul Webster in 1956.  Bob Hope, John Waye, Doris Day, Lorrie Morgan, Tim Allen, Jim Nabors and Kenny Rogers are but a few of the long list of celebrities who have given their time and talent to promote Toys for Tots.  First Lady Nancy Reagan served as a national spokesperson during President Reagan’s presidency.  First Lady Barbara Bush served as the national spokesperson in 1992 and in her autobiography names Toys for Tots as one of her favorite charities.

Through the gift of a shiny new toy, the Marine Toys for Tots Campaign provides happiness and hope to disadvantaged children who might otherwise be overlooked this holiday season.  Your donations help give children recognition, confidence and positive memory for a lifetime.

Throughout the 68 years of the U.S. Marine Corps Reserve Toys for Tots Program, Marine have distributed more that 370 million toys to more than 173 million needy children nationwide.  Since 1996 alone, Marines here in Hawaii have collected more that 700,000 toys and more than $400,000 which went to make the holidays brighter for nearly 500,000 of Hawaii’s less fortunate keiki.  Last year 28,000 new toys were collected and distributed to 23,000 less fortunate children of Oahu.  Every toy and every dollar collected here in Hawaii to buy toys stay here in Hawaii.

Comments No Comments »

Connie Mitchell, Executive Director for the Institute for Human Services (IHS) and Todd Matsumoto, President of The VW Club of Hawaii wish to thank all the participants time, donation in making this 6th annual event another huge success.  Thank you to Vintage VW Club of Hawaii, Westside Kaahui Braddahood, Hawaiian VW Outlaws, Der Perle Stadt Kreuzers, and our water cooled brothers Team Foreign Objects for giving to the IHS keikisThank you to Gordon & Carol and Cheriece Ortiz, and Richard & Leilani Carvalho.  Congratulations to Mililani’s Eldin Tomas for whoopin’ away with the Director’s Choice Trophy.

20161120_121322Director’s Choice Trophy

Eldin Tomas, ’67 Sunroof, Mililani, Hawaiian VW Outlaws


Comments No Comments »

Shaka Show-n-Shine date and location has been set —

Aina Moana parking lot at Magic Island Ala Moana Beach Park, Oahu, Hawaii

7:00 am – 5:00pm, Sunday, September 3, 2017

FB_IMG_1474003199957Pix by Travis Turbeville of Richard Carvalho’s 21-Window.

Comments No Comments »

BEST OF SHOW:  Tracie & Joey Kekoa – ’61 Convertible Bug


1ST : Ed and Pat Villaruel – ’57 Black Baby Window

2nd: Lazarus Flores – ’56 Baby Window

3rd: Barton Ganigan – ’56 Black Baby Window


1st: Mike M. – 57 Coral Red Baby Window Ragtop

2nd: Roy Tampon – ’57 Orange Baby Window

3rd: Aaron Silva – ’56 Yellow Baby Window


1st: Richard Jones – ’66 Red ‘Vert Bug

2nd: Brian Vollert – ’56 Gold ‘Vert Bug


1st: Tracie & Joey Kekoa – ’61 Purple ‘Vert Bug

2nd: Sixto Amian – ’57 Black ‘Vert Bug

3rd: Randy L. Perez – ’67 ‘ Vert Grey Bug


1st: Walter Horton – ’62 Blue

2nd: Travis Turbeville – ’64 Ruby Red

3rd: Royce Makaea – ’58 Gray


1st: Alfredo Decierdo -64 Bahama Blue

2nd: Eldin Tomas – ’67 Grey Sunroof

3rd: Randy Makahanaloa – ‘SIK RAT’


1st: Tano Salvador – ’67 Black

2nd: Irene Ramiro – ’64 Candy Red

3rd: Mike Roth ’68 Silver and Arlene Eliazar ‘ 61 Torquise


1st: Alan Agor – ’57 Dove Blue 11-Window

2nd: Nico Wunnicke  – ’66 Single Cab


1st: Rick Hare – ’65 ‘1KOMBI’

2nd: Steven Castillo – ’66 11-Window Ragtop

3rd: Anthony Fajota – ’67 21-Window


1st: Tony & Stella Smith – ’60 DC

2nd: Sean Viernes – ’62 DC

3rd: Kevin Meyer – ’63 DC


1st: Josiah Kekoa – ’69 Bay Window

2nd: Leo & Brenda Bringas – ’71 Double Cab

3rd: Marc Tinaz ’73


1st: Mike Archer – ’65 Brown

2nd: Crandall Kobashigawa – ’64 Silver/Blue

3rd: Glenn Soriano – ’63 ‘FIAH’


1st:  Josiah Kekoa – ’63 Red Notchback

2nd:  Nelson Viernes – ’65 Aqua Notchback

3rd: Leo Brinas – ’63 Squareback Lt Green/White


1st: Marty Wurm – ’73 Orange Thing

2nd: Charlene Hornos – ’73 Red Thing

3rd: Lisa Miller – ’65 Off-Road Bug


1st: Destin Tungplan

2nd: Mike Grimes

3rd: Greg Frey – ’10 New Beetle


Vintage/Classic:  Lincoln Chee

Beach Cruiser:  Willard Mumwad

Lowrider:  Jeffrey Manuel

Comments No Comments »

14183717_10153872276832596_4331593110234145231_nPhoto courtesy Jon Bickford

Bruce and Winnie Meyers experienced first hand what Shaka Weekend is all about.  From San Diego, CA Bruce and Winnie had a stop over in Lahaina, Maui where Bruce met up with his 91 year old childhood friend, George.  On the way to the airport Lap Nguyen and Brandon Sylva (Buggy owners), too, met up with Bruce and Winnie.  Upon arrival to Honolulu International Airport, Jon Bickford of Kauai greeted Bruce and Winnie.  From there it was non-stop action to include a Beach Boys concert on Saturday evening.  A few Meyers Manx was authenticated on the spot.  A lot of autographs and pictures by Mr. Meyers.  Certainly, a lot of dreams fulfilled by meeting, shaking hands, chatting story with Mr. and Mrs. Meyers.

This trip would not have been possible without the support of:  Edward J. Saunders; P. Gregory Frey; Bradley ‘Bubba’ Parrow; Brandy Les Kaneshiro; Jesse ‘Spyda’ Leano; Kamaile ‘Undertaker’ & Josie Almeida; Todd Matsumoto; Dean Michioka; Lisa Miller; Terry Gabriel; Dean Funakoshi; Mike Whaley; Joey Kekoa; Elena Luecke & Glen Kaleikaapunihonua; and, Ryan of Barefoot Buggy Rentals.  And, of course Jon Bickford of Kauai for not only broaching the question during Bruce’s 90th birthday bash in March in Glendale, CA. to come to Buggy Paradise, but for his chauffeuring and personal escort duties.    



Comments No Comments »